Each April, different organizations commemorate distracted driving awareness month.
According to the American Automobile Association (AAA), there's a good reason for these groups to draw attention to distracted driving. Just last year, over 95,000 crashes occurred in Texas. At least 394 people died.
AAA's data doesn't state how many of these crashes were caused by distracted driving. Some Waco residents know first hand just how dangerous it can be, though.
One of those people was just 21 years old when a motorist crashed head-on into her car. Her injuries were so severe that she ended up having to be airlifted to a hospital.
Crash scene investigators ultimately determined that the woman who caused the crash was distracted by her radio, phone or her daughter when it happened.
The Baylor University student spent three weeks in the hospital after the crash. She underwent several surgeries on her broken back, toes, nose and sternum before her release. She ended up with more than $700,000 in bills.
Ultimately the 38-year-old woman who struck her was convicted of aggravated assault with a deadly weapon. It's unclear how much time in jail she will face.
As for the victim, she struggles with memory problems more than a year after her accident. This is caused, in large part, by her having been knocked unconscious by the crash. She still struggles to walk and she's only recently tried to learn how to run again. This is just one of many stories of how distracted driving has impacted a Texan's life.
Texting while driving became illegal in Texas in September of 2017. Anyone who violates this state law can be charged with a Class C misdemeanor and be fined up to $99 as a first time offender. Those who violate the law a second time may be assessed a $200 fine.
Despite there being laws on the books in Texas that make it illegal to text and drive, many motorists take their chances and do it in the hope that they won't get caught. It's not worth the risk of putting your life or someone else's in danger.
Compensation for car accident injuries is available for those who have been hurt or killed by a negligent driver. A car accidents attorney can evaluate your case to see if you qualify to file a claim.